Special Education

 reading

Click on Teacher's Name to Go to their Website.

Ms. Lauren Dollinger
ldollinger@hicksvillepublicschools.org

Mrs. Guglieri
sguglieri@hicksvillepublicschools.org

Mrs. Negri-Diaz
cnegri@hicksvillepublicschools.org

Ms. Ryan
fryan@hicksvillepublicschools.org


Reading

Mrs. Thier 
cthier@hicksvillepublicschools.org

AIS

Ms. Zarzicki
tzarzicki@hicksvillepublicschools.org

 

The Remedial Reading Program

The Remedial Reading Program is designed to develop the phonetic and comprehension skills of students who have difficulty decoding and understanding material that is written on their grade level. Students are assigned to the Remedial Reading Program based upon the results of the District's MAP Testing Program and New York State's English Language Arts Assessment. Students in the program attend daily classes and utilize materials which correspond to their instructional level. Emphasis is placed upon developing fluency and the ability to understand both narrative and informational texts of increasing complexity. Activities are also utilized to increase the students' written expression and enhance their ability to respond to different types of texts.

The Academic Intervention Services (AIS) Program

The Academic Intervention Services (AIS) Program is also designed to develop the reading, writing, and mathematical skills for students who have not met the standards set by New York State. Students are assigned to the program based upon the results of the District's MAP Testing Program and New York State's English Language Arts and Mathematics Assessments. Students attend AIS classes either once or twice a week and engage in a variety of activities to develop reading comprehension, written expression, problem solving, and computational skills. Strategies to increase understanding of texts are presented to the students and programs such as Touch Math are used to develop computational skills.